holisticrendezvous

integrating nutrition, fitness, sprituality, conscious living, and a little sass

Fiesta Quinoa Salad

photo 2I made this amazing salad completely by accident! I always make quinoa salad with green onion, cilantro, and tomatoes, but it just wasn’t cutting it this time. I had it sitting in the fridge and just wasn’t loving it, so I started to look at what else I had prepped in the fridge. I had some kabocha squash that I had just cooked, some sunflower seeds that I had sprouted, and a massive bag of carrots. So I started to add some of these ingredients and ended up with a massive volume quinoa salad that is perfect served hot or cold. It seriously has so much flavor and tons of nutrients from all of the vegetables in it, not to mention the benefits of nutritional yeast. I immediately made this for a family that I cook for and it has already become a staple in my house for my meal preps.

 

Seriously, don’t let the randomness and simplicity fool you…it’s perfection. Make it now.

photo 1

Ingredients

  • 1 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 head cilantro, chopped
  • 1-2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 head green onions, chopped
  • 1 cup chopped squash (kabocha or acorn with the skins on is my favorite..and I like them to be small cubes!)
  • 2.5 cups cooked black beans, or 1 can
  • 1 or more cups sliced cherry tomatoes
  • 1 cup raw sunflowers seeds, sprouted if possible!
  • juice of 2 limes
  • southwest chipotle seasoning
  • nutritional yeast

Directions

  • Cook quinoa according to directions…boil in water then reduce  to a simmer until it is nice and fluffy!
  • While this is cooking, you can also cook your squash of choice and your black beans if you are soaking and using dry instead of canned.
  • Once the items that need to be cooked have cooked and slightly cooled, add in all of your raw ingredients!
  • Then, season to taste with nutritional yeast, chipotle seasoning, salt, and more lime juice if necessary.
  • Top it with a perfect avocado and you have reached pure decadence.
Leave a Reply

Follow us on Instagram!

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

